Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Transport Triggered Architecture
09-11-2014, 02:32 PM
Transport Triggered Architecture
My project is a vision application. I am a total beginner in FPGA's, but from what I have read, transport triggered architecture is the way to go.
Even a very small TTA needs a processor to control.
Any suggestions for a small soft processor?
Any suggestions for the TTA VHDL, starting small and adding function blocks later?
Should I rather use an external processor?
Thank you
Johan Smit
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-12-2014, 01:57 AM (This post was last modified: 09-12-2014 11:35 AM by Fleasystems.)
RE: Transport Triggered Architecture
Hello Johan,

While I am no expert on machine vision algorithms myself, I'll try my best to answer your questions. However, you will need to elaborate on what it was you were trying to accomplish.

What I do know about Video processing, is that it is a fairly advanced and complex subject to apply with any FPGA. As you've stated you have zero (or near-zero) experience with FPGAs I would suggest you first start off with getting comfortable with using VHDL (or Verilog, though the examples provided in the FleaFPGA downloads section are VHDL). Then go forward with your TTA arch, or RISC CPU + hardwired FFT or whatever your final configuration may be.

There is also the matter of FleaFPGA's logic resources being somewhat limited, which must be taken into account for any digital design (After all, FleaFPGA is intended as an entry-level FPGA dev board). It is possible that for really complex video processing apps you may need to goto a larger and usually more expensive FPGA platform.

As for a main CPU that 'calls the shots' so to speak, there are several on opencores I could recommend you. I do have 68K and x86 ports for FleaFPGA, but those CISC cores to eat up a lot of FPGA fabric and therefore may or may not work out for you..